[jja-announce] ballot -- attachment earlier may not have come through

JJA, President president at jazzjournalists.org
Sun Feb 14 20:42:56 EST 2010

2010 Jazz Journalist Association Nominations Ballot

RETURN TO: JazzAwardsNom at JazzJournalists.Org

DATE DUE: March 14, 2010

The Jazz Journalists Association has presented Jazz Awards for excellence in
jazz music-making, presentation/production, and documentation since 1996.
Since 2002, the JJA has also recognized the contributions of advocates,
altruists, aiders and abetters of jazz - the "A Team." Recipients of 2010
Awards will be celebrated at an event in New York City in June. Place and
date will be announced.

The 2010 Jazz Journalists Association Nominations Ballot was prepared by Ken
Drydren, chairman of the JJA Ballots Committee, with committee members
Laurence Donohue-Greene, Howard Mandel and Neil Tesser. Tabulation will be
administered by this committee. The JJA thanks these members for this
volunteer service. Contact Ken Dryden, jazzjournalist @yahoo.com, with
questions about this ballot.


A. You must be a professional member whose dues are current at the time
nominations are submitted. Please include your name and email address that
you use for communications with JJA.

B. Please double check: spelling of names, previous winners in lifetime
categories, release dates, etc.

C. List a maximum of five nominees per category, last name first WITHOUT a
comma: Smith John

 It is not necessary to write "none" or draw a line in a category if you
omit nominations, though please do not delete a category if you make no
nominations in it.

D. Copy and paste the full ballot into a new email, please do not hit reply
or send it as an attachment, as it adds to the tabulators' already
time-consuming workload.

E. Please submit your completed nominations ballot to
JazzAwardsNoms at jazzjournalists.org before March 14, 2010.

F. Information on submissions to Jazz Award for Photo of the Year will be

Thank you for participating in the JJA Jazz Awards.

1. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz 
Previous winners ineligible: Lee Konitz,
Marian McPartland, Benny Carter, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins, Cecil Taylor,
Ornette Coleman, John Lewis, Clark Terry, Dave Brubeck, Hank Jones, Roy
Haynes, Andrew Hill

2. Musician of the Year

3. Composer of the Year

4. Up & Coming Artist of the Year (having recorded fewer than 5 CDs as a

5. Events Producer of the Year

6. Record of the Year (CDs issued between March 1, 2009 and February 28,

7. Historical Recording, Boxed Set, or Single CD Reissue of the Year (Note:
Condensed editions of
previously issued boxed sets are ineligible)

8. DVD of the Year

9. Record Label of the Year

10. Female Singer of the Year

11. Male Singer of the Year

12. Unusual Instrument in Jazz

13. Large Ensemble of the Year

14. Arranger of the Year

15. Small Ensemble Group of the Year (<10 pieces)

16. Trumpeter of the Year

17. Trombonist of the Year

18. Tenor Saxophonist of the Year

19. Alto Saxophonist of the Year

20. Flutist of the Year

21. Baritone Saxophonist of the Year

22. Soprano Saxophonist of the Year

23. Clarinetist of the Year

24. Guitarist of the Year

25. Pianist of the Year

26. Organist of the Year

27. Violinist of the Year

28. Bassist of the Year (includes Acoustic & Electric)

29. Mallet Instrumentalist of the Year

30. Percussionist of the Year

31. Drummer of the Year

32. Periodical of the year

33. Website of the Year

34. Blog of the Year

35. Best Book about Jazz

36. Best Liner Notes

37. Photo of the Year--Processes for nominations for Photo of the Year will
be detailed in an e-mail to

38. The Helen Dance–Robert Palmer Award for Review and Feature Writing
(Print and/or Online)

39. The Willis Conover–Marian McPartland Award for Broadcasting
winners ineligible: Ben Young, Nancy Wilson, Phil Schaap, Neil Tesser,
Marian McPartland, Dr. Billy Taylor, Kenny Washington, Michael Bourne, Alyn
Shipton, Steve Schwartz, Rhonda Hamilton, Eric Jackson, Bob Porter

40. The Lona Foote–Bob Parent Award for Photography 
Previous winners
ineligible: John Abbott, Milt Hinton, William Claxton, William Gottlieb,
Herman Leonard, Jimmy Katz, Chuck Stewart, Enid Farber, Ken Franckling, Lee
Tanner, Jack Vartoogian, Gene Martin

41. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism
Previous Winners ineligible:
Mike Zwerin, Doug Ramsey, Whitney Balliett, Stanley Dance, Nat Hentoff, Dan
Morgenstern, Ira Gitler, Gary Giddins, Gene Lees, Bob Blumenthal, Howard
Mandel, Francis Davis


More information about the jja-announce mailing list