[jja-announce] nominate best in jazz for 2010 Jazz Awards

JJA, President president at jazzjournalists.org
Sun Feb 21 11:52:39 EST 2010

Dear JJA colleagues -- Nominations are currently being made for the bests of
2009-2010 in 41 categories of jazz music, documentation, presentation and
journalism vying for highest honors in the 14th annual JJA Jazz Awards. The
Jazz Awards will be presented at a gala in mid June in New York City, date
and place tba.

Below is the nominations ballot - which is due to be returned to:
JazzAwardsNoms at JazzJournalists.org before March 15. Only paid-in-full
professional members of the JJA can nominate and vote in the Awards, so if
you haven't paid up $75 dues for the coming year (past lapses are
forgiven), use your charge card (it helps us maintain records, which are
being much improved by our recently appointed JJA membership secretary and
treasurer) to renew at http://www.jazzhouse.org/noff/index.php?page_id=30and .

Then begin to ponder whose work struck you most excellent from mid March
2009 through this time, now. Fill in up to five nominees in each category.
Your participation ensures that worthy musicians, recordings, producers,
websites, blogs, periodicals, writers, photographers and broadcasters will
get the recognition they deserve, joining the list of jazz exemplars the JJA
has been recognizing since 1996.

Do it today! -- thanks, Pres Howard


A. You must be a professional member whose dues are current at the time
nominations are submitted. Please include your name and email address that
you use for communications with JJA.

B. Please double check: spelling of names, previous winners in lifetime
categories, release dates, etc.

C. List a maximum of five nominees per category, last name first WITHOUT a
comma: Smith John                                It is not necessary to
write "none" or draw a line in a category if you omit nominations, though
please do not delete a category if you make no nominations in it.

D. Copy and paste the full ballot into a new email, please do not hit reply
or send it as an attachment, as it adds to the tabulators' already
time-consuming workload.

E. Please submit your completed nominations ballot to *
JazzAwardsNoms at jazzjournalists.org* before March 14, 2010.

F. Information on submissions to Jazz Award for Photo of the Year will be

Thank you for participating in the JJA Jazz Awards.

1. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz
*Previous winners ineligible: Lee Konitz, Marian McPartland, Benny Carter,
Max Roach, Sonny Rollins, Cecil Taylor, Ornette Coleman, John Lewis, Clark
Terry, Dave Brubeck, Hank Jones, Roy Haynes, Andrew Hill*

2. Musician of the Year

3. Composer of the Year

4. Up & Coming Artist of the Year (having recorded fewer than 5 CDs as a

5. Events Producer of the Year

6. Record of the Year (CDs issued between March 1, 2009 and February 28,

7. Historical Recording, Boxed Set, or Single CD Reissue of the Year (Note:
Condensed editions of previously issued boxed sets are ineligible)

8. DVD of the Year

9. Record Label of the Year

10. Female Singer of the Year

11. Male Singer of the Year

12. Unusual Instrument in Jazz

13. Large Ensemble of the Year

14. Arranger of the Year

15. Small Ensemble Group of the Year (<10 pieces)

16. Trumpeter of the Year

17. Trombonist of the Year

18. Tenor Saxophonist of the Year

19. Alto Saxophonist of the Year

20. Flutist of the Year

21. Baritone Saxophonist of the Year

22. Soprano Saxophonist of the Year

23. Clarinetist of the Year

24. Guitarist of the Year

25. Pianist of the Year

26. Organist of the Year

27. Violinist of the Year

28. Bassist of the Year (includes Acoustic & Electric)

29. Mallet Instrumentalist of the Year

30. Percussionist of the Year

31. Drummer of the Year

32. Periodical of the year

33. Website of the Year

34. Blog of the Year

35. Best Book about Jazz

 36. Best Liner Notes

37. Photo of the Year--Processes for nominations for Photo of the Year will
be detailed in an e-mail to follow

38. The Helen Dance–Robert Palmer Award for Review and Feature Writing
(Print and/or Online)

39. The Willis Conover–Marian McPartland Award for Broadcasting
*Previous winners ineligible: Ben Young, Nancy Wilson, Phil Schaap, Neil
Tesser, Marian McPartland, Dr. Billy Taylor, Kenny Washington, Michael
Bourne, Alyn Shipton, Steve Schwartz, Rhonda Hamilton, Eric Jackson, Bob

40. The Lona Foote–Bob Parent Award for Photography
*Previous winners ineligible: John Abbott, Milt Hinton, William Claxton,
William Gottlieb, Herman Leonard, Jimmy Katz, Chuck Stewart, Enid Farber,
Ken Franckling, Lee Tanner, Jack Vartoogian, Gene Martin*

41. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism
*Previous Winners ineligible: Mike Zwerin, Doug Ramsey, Whitney Balliett,
Stanley Dance, Nat Hentoff, Dan Morgenstern, Ira Gitler, Gary Giddins, Gene
Lees, Bob Blumenthal, Howard Mandel, Francis Davis*


More information about the jja-announce mailing list