Finalist nominees for the 2008 Jazz Awards, the Jazz Journalists Association's 12 annual celebration of excellence in jazz and jazz journalism, are hereby announced. Voting on these nominees by professional JJA members to determine one representative winner in each category will commence soon at — members should watch for emails with further details. The Jazz Awards will be celebrated at a cocktail reception from 3 to 6 p.m. on Wednesday, June 18 at the Jazz Standard, 116 East 27th Street New York, New York. Information on tickets will also be forthcoming.

Lifetime Achievement in Jazz
(past winners are ineligible: Benny Carter, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins, Cecil Taylor, Ornette Coleman, John Lewis, Clark Terry, Dave Brubeck, Hank Jones, Roy Haynes, Andrew Hill)

Musician of the Year Up & Coming Musician of the Year Record of the Year Reissue of the Year Reissue box set Record Label of the Year Composer of the Year Arranger of the Year Male Singer of the Year Female Singer of the Year Latin Jazz Album of the Year Small Ensemble Group of the Year (< 9 pieces) Large Ensemble of the Year (9+ pieces) Trumpeter of the Year Trombonist of the Year Player of the Year of Instruments Rare in Jazz Alto Player of the Year Tenor Player of the Year Soprano Saxophonist of the Year Baritone Saxophonist of the year Clarinetist of the Year Flutist of the Year Pianist of the Year Organ-keyboards of the Year Guitarist of the Year Bassist of the Year Electric Bassist of the Year Strings Player of the Year Mallets Player of the Year Percussionist of the Year Drummer of the Year

Jazz Journalism Categories

Jazz Journalism Lifetime Achievement Award
(previous winners ineligible: Whitney Balliett, Stanley Dance, Nat Hentoff, Dan Morgenstern, Ira Gitler, Gary Giddins, Gene Lees, Bob Blumenthal, Howard Mandel, Francis Davis)

Excellence in Jazz Broadcasting: The Willis Conover-Marian McPartland Award
(previous winners ineligible: (previous winners ineligible: Phil Schaap, Neil Tesser, Marian McPartland, Dr. Billy Taylor, Kenny Washington, Michael Bourne, Alyn Shipton, Steve Schwartz, Rhonda Hamilton, Eric Jackson, Bob Porter) Excellence in Newspaper, Magazine or Online Feature or Review Writing of the Year: The Helen Dance–Robert Palmer Award Best Periodical Covering Jazz Best Website Concentrating on Jazz Best Book About Jazz Excellence in Photography: The Lona Foote–Bob Parent Award
(previous winners ineligible: William Claxton, William Gottlieb, Herman Leonard, Jimmy Katz, Chuck Stewart, Enid Farber, Ken Franckling, Lee Tanner, Jack Vartoogian, Gene Martin) Jazz Events Producer of the Year Entrance