Canada's National Jazz Awards

Canada's National Jazz Awards

by James Hale
copyright © 2002 James Hale

Outside, up and down the length of Toronto's Bloor Street, Canadians were celebrating the country's first Olympic gold medal in men's hockey in 50 years; inside the Bathurst Street Theatre Canada's best jazz musicians were partying at the first National Jazz Awards.

Diana Krall scored a hat trick, winning in the categories of Record of the Year, Musician of the Year and International Musician of the Year, but in a quirk akin to the Academy Awards, where directors are often passed over only to see their film win the Best Picture category, Krall lost the Vocalist category to Carol Welsman.

Veteran Toronto musician Rob McConnell was the only other multiple winner, in the Trombonist and Arranger categories.

The winners were chosen by the general public in online voting.

Broadcast live coast-to-coast on radio, the awards ceremony featured performances by: Jane Bunnett's Spirit of Havana, D.D. Jackson, Joanne Brackeen, Tenor Madness, Yannick Rieu, and others.

In a ceremony preceding the awards, pianist Oscar Peterson was inducted into the new Canadian Jazz & Blues Hall of Fame, scheduled to open in Barrie, north of Toronto, and awarded the first-ever Bosendorfer Lifetime Achievement Award by the renowned Austrian piano manufacturer. Peterson performed briefly with bassist Dave Young.

And The Winners Are . . .

Record of the Year: The Look of Love - Diana Krall
Musician of the Year: Diana Krall
International Musician of the Year: Diana Krall
Trumpeter: Kevin Turcotte
Trombonist: Rob McConnell
Saxophonist: Mike Murley
Clarinetist: Phil Nimmons
Guitarist: Michael Occhipinti
Violinist: Hugh Marsh
Keyboardist: Dave Restivo
Bassist: Dave Young/Steve Wallace
Drummer: Terry Clarke
Percussionist: Rick Lazar
Miscellaneous Instrumentalist: Jane Bunnett
Vocalist: Carol Welsman
SOCAN Composer/Songwriter: D.D.Jackson
Composer: Nick Ali
Arranger: Rob McConnell
Acoustic Group: Barry Elmes Quintet
Electric Group: Metalwood
Big Band: NOJO
Producer: Jim West/Bringham Phillips
Label: Justin Time
Jazz Festival: Festival International de Jazz de Montreal
Broadcaster: Ross Porter
Journalist: Mark Miller

C o m m e n t s

No comments yet. You can be the first.
[<<] [<] [>] [>>]