Jazz Awards 2002 Winners

Jazz Awards 2002 Winners

The Jazz Journalists Association held its sixth annual Jazz Awards event on Wednesday, June 19 at The Jazz Standard (116 E. 27th Street, New York City), with upwards of 300 musicians, journalists, photographers, broadcasters, news media professionals, and industry executives from Europe and North America in attendance. The capacity audience was treated to celebrated actor Avery Brooks and longtime comedian and jazz funnyman Soupy Sales as Master of Ceremonies, and guest appearances from Marian McPartland, Dr. Billy Taylor, Cassandra Wilson, Bill Charlap, Dave Douglas, Chano Domingues, Eddie Bert, Gary Giddins and Roy Haynes, among others. Pianist Roberta Piket's trio with bassist Rufus Reid and drummer Billy Hart, and bassist Ben Allison's Quintet (Michael Blake, saxes; Mamoudou Dibate, kora; Frank Kimbrough, piano; Michael Sarin, drums) performed full sets.

Clark Terry © 2002 Skip Bolen

Based on votes cast by members of the 400 strong JJA international membership, and presented at a benefit for the Jazz Foundation of America, the awards -- handsome 6 1/2 inch obelisks, individually inscribed and with a floating acetate of the JJA's logo -- were given in 40 categories, which included Lifetime Achievement in Jazz, Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism, Musician of the Year, and Jazz Film/Video of the Year. Along with the JJA, the JFA presented Discretionary Awards to veteran jazz producer George Avakian, Dr. John Minichetti and Dr. David Feldman, both of whom are associated with Englewood Hospital, New Jersey.

Presenters included: journalists Ashley Kahn, Willard Jenkins, Bill Milkowski, T. Brooks Shepard, Ken Dryden, Patricia Willard, Ted Panken, Chuck Obuchowski, Martin

Johnson, Laurence Donohue-Greene, Larry Blumenfeld, Phil Elwood, Ira Gitler, Lara Pellegrinelli, Dan Ouellette; Howard Mandel, JJA president; Wendy Oxenhorn, Jazz Foundation of America executive director; Thomas Bellino, Chamber Music America; Frank J. Oteri, American Music Center; Chuck Iwanusa, Jazz Alliance International; Marian MacPartland, pianist; Danny Meyer, proprietor, Jazz Standard; Claire Daly, baritone saxophonist; Lorraine Gordon, Village Vanguard proprietor; Jeff Kliman, photographer; Suzan Jenkins, jazz industry veteran; Jeff Levenson, jazz industry veteran; Bill Gottlieb, photographer; Martin Mueller, director, New School Jazz and Contemporary Music Program; Dan Morgenstern, Institute of Jazz Studies and Lauren Deutsch, executive director, Jazz Institute of Chicago.

Among the financial supporters of the Jazz Awards 2002 were Columbia Records, ECM, Warner Bros. Records, Palmetto Records, Justin Time Records, Jazz@Lincoln Center, Tower Records, and Watson-Guptil Publishers (Billboard Books).

Further information about the Jazz Awards, the Jazz Journalists Association and the Jazz Foundation of America is available on the websites www.JazzJournalistsAwards.com and www.JazzFoundation.org. A gallery show of the submissions for Jazz Photo of the Year is posted on www.Jazzhouse.org.

A benefit for the Jazz Foundation of America's Musicians Emergency Fund, the Jazz Awards also honored three "Discretionary Awards Winners" who have provided unusual service to the jazz community and industry. These are:

Dr. John Minichetti, specialist in dentistry
Dr. David Feldman, specialist in joint replacements
George Avakian, veteran jazz album producer

These winners and the Jazz Journalists of the Year also received art posters from the French jazz photo agency Mephisto, which has recently joined the JJA.

The winners of the Jazz Awards 2002 are:

  1. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz

    Clark Terry

  2. Musician of the Year (achievement in sound recordings, live concert performances and overall presence, April 15, 2001 - April 15, 2002)

    Dave Holland

  3. Album of the Year (Released April 15, 2001 - April 15, 2002)

    Charlie Haden, Nocturne (Verve)

  4. Reissue of the Year

    Billie Holiday, Lady Day: The Complete Billie Holiday on Columbia, 1933-1944 (Columbia Legacy)

  5. Events Producer of the Year

    André Ménard, Festival International de Jazz De Montréal

  6. Composer of the Year
    Henry Threadgill © 1998 Enid Farber

    Henry Threadgill

  7. Male Singer of the Year

    Kurt Elling

  8. Female Singer of the Year

    Cassandra Wilson

  9. Recording Debut of the Year (Artist's First Effort As a Leader)

    Norah Jones, Come Away With Me (Blue Note)

  10. Afro-Caribbean Jazz Album of the Year

    Omar Sosa, Sentir (Otá Records)

  11. Brazilian Jazz Album of the Year

    Trio Da Paz, Partido Out (Malandro)

  12. Small Ensemble of the Year (nonet or smaller)

    Wayne Shorter Quartet

  13. Large Ensemble of the Year (tentet or bigger, including big bands, jazz orchestras, contemporary symphonies, et. al.)

    Mingus Big Band

  14. Trumpeter of the Year

    Dave Douglas

  15. Trombonist of the Year

    Wycliffe Gordon

  16. Brass of the Year (tuba, French horn, etc.)

    Howard Johnson, tuba

  17. Alto Saxophonist of the Year

    Greg Osby

  18. Tenor Saxophonist of the Year

    Chris Potter

  19. Soprano Saxophonist of the Year

    Wayne Shorter

  20. Baritone Saxophonist of the Year

    James Carter

  21. Clarinetist of the Year

    Don Byron

  22. Pianist of the Year

    Bill Charlap

  23. Organ-Keyboards of the Year
    Steve Swallow © 1992 Enid Farber

    John Medeski

  24. Guitarist of the Year

    Russell Malone

  25. Acoustic Bassist of the Year

    Dave Holland

  26. Electric Bassist of the Year

    Steve Swallow

  27. Strings Player of the Year

    Regina Carter

  28. Mallets Player of the Year

    Stefon Harris

  29. Percussionist of the Year

    Kahil El'Zabar

  30. Drummer of the Year

    Roy Haynes


  1. Jazz Journalism Lifetime Achievement Award

    Ira Gitler

  2. Excellence in Jazz Broadcasting/the Willis Conover-Marian McPartland Award

    Kenny Washington

  3. Excellence in Photography/the Lona Foote-Bob Parent Award

    Enid Farber

  4. Excellence in Newspaper, Magazine or Online Feature or Review Writing/the Helen Dance-Robert Palmer Award

    Gary Giddins

  5. Best Film/Video Regarding Jazz of the Year

    Calle 54

  6. Best Periodical Covering Jazz

    Jazz Times

  7. Best Jazz Website of the Year


  8. Best Book on Jazz of the Year

    A New History Of Jazz, Alyn Shipton, Continuum

  9. Best Photo of the Year

    Enid Farber -- Claire on the Stairs

    C o m m e n t s

    Jazz Awards Show 1 of 1
    Ken Dryden
    Warning: date(): It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected the timezone 'UTC' for now, but please set date.timezone to select your timezone. in /web/jh/public_html/com/comnlib.php on line 221
    July 03, 02

    What a fun evening it was...those of who don't live in the NYC area (I came from Chattanooga) should consider attending next year's ceremony. The music, our guest emcees (Avery Brooks and Soupy Sales), the food and company were great, and the winners' speeches were gracious and to the point. I just wish I had the chance to say hi to more folks around the room, as it was hard to move around due to the turnout. See you wherever we hold it next year.

    [<<] [<] [>] [>>]