David R. Adler: Top 25 of 2009, plus

December 7th 2009 01:27 pm

Copyright © 2009 David R. Adler

1. David S. Ware, Shakti (Aum Fidelity)
2. Miguel Zenón, Esta Plena (Marsalis Music)
3. Gerald Clayton, Two-Shade (ArtistShare)
4. Vijay Iyer Trio, Historicity (ACT)
5. Steve Lehman Octet, Travail Transformation & Flow (Pi)
6. Herculaneum, Herculaneum III (Clean Feed)
7. David Binney, Third Occasion (Mythology)
8. Edward Simon Trio, Poesía (Cam Jazz)
9. Darcy James Argue’s Secret Society, Infernal Machines (New Amsterdam)
10. SFJazz Collective, Live 2009: The Works of McCoy Tyner (SFJazz)
11. Julian Lage, Sounding Point (Decca/Emarcy)
12. Ben Wendel, Simple Song (Sunnyside)
13. Kurt Rosenwinkel Standards Trio, Reflections (Wommusic)
14. Abdullah Ibrahim, Senzo (WDR/Sunnyside)
15. Keith Jarrett, Testament (ECM)
16. Stefon Harris’s Blackout, Urbanus (Concord)
17. John Patitucci, Remembrance (Concord)
18. Marcus Strickland, Idiosyncrasies (Strick Muzik)
19. John Hollenbeck Large Ensemble, Eternal Interlude (Sunnyside)
20. Linda Oh Trio, Entry (ind.)
21. Fred Hersch Plays Jobim (Sunnyside)
22. Samuel Blaser, Pieces of Old Sky (Clean Feed)
23. Henry Threadgill’s ZOOID, This Brings Us To, Volume 1 (Pi)
24. Nicole Mitchell’s Black Earth Strings, Renegades (Delmark)
25. Claudia Acuña, En Este Momento (Marsalis Music)

Others of note —
Nels Cline, Coward (Cryptogramophone)
John Hicks, I Remember You (HighNote)
Martial Solal, Live at the Village Vanguard (Cam Jazz)
Nelson Veras, Solo Session Vol. 1 (BEE Jazz)
Mika Pohjola, Great Tunes By My Friends (Blue Music Group)
Dan Tepfer, Twelve Free Improvisations in Twelve Keys (ind.)
Julian Argüelles, Inner Voices (Tone of a Pitch)
Charles Evans, The King of All Instruments (Hot Cup)
Jason Stein, In Exchange for a Process (Leo)
Daniel Kelly, Portal (3×9)
Katherine Young, Further Secret Origins (Porter)
Mika Pohjola, The Red Bicycle (Blue Music Group)

Gerry Hemingway & Thomas Lehn, Kinetics: Tom & Gerry (Auricle)
Gerry Hemingway & John Butcher, Buffalo Pearl (Auricle)
Eddie Daniels & Roger Kellaway, A Duet of One: Live at the Bakery (IPO)
Jim Hall & Bill Frisell, Hemispheres (ArtistShare)
Michael Blake & Kresten Osgood, Control This (Clean Feed)
Alan Sondheim & Myk Freedman, Julu Twine (Porter)
Andy Milne & Benoit Delbecq, Where Is Pannonica? (Songlines)
Jesse Stacken & Kirk Knuffke, Mockingbird (SteepleChase)
Satoko Fujii & Myra Melford, Under the Water (Libra)
Dennis González & João Paulo, Duo (Clean Feed)
Dan Tepfer & Lee Konitz, Duos with Lee (Sunnyside)
Ben Monder & Bill McHenry, Bloom (Blue Music Group)
Eddie Harris & Ellis Marsalis, Homecoming (Elm Classics)
Gary Peacock & Marc Copland, Insight (Pirouet)

Tyshawn Sorey, Koan (482 Music)
Pascal Niggenkemper Trio, Pasàpas (Konnex)
Anthony Wilson Trio, Jack of Hearts (Groove Note)
J.D. Allen, Shine! (Sunnyside)
Manuel Valera, Currents (MaxJazz)
FLY, Sky & Country (ECM)
Jerome Sabbagh, One Two Three (BEE Jazz)
Jason Stein’s Locksmith Isidore, Three Less Than Between (Clean Feed)
Enrico Pieranunzi/Marc Johnson/Joey Baron, Dream Dance (CAM Jazz)
Han Bennink Trio, Parken (ILK)
Darius Jones Trio, Man’ish Boy: A Raw and Beautiful Thing (Aum Fidelity)
Digital Primitives, Hum Crackle & Pop (Hopscotch)
Chad Taylor, Circle Down (482 Music)
Kevin Hays Trio, You’ve Got a Friend (Jazz Eyes)
Sam Yahel, Hometown (Posi-Tone)
John Hollenbeck/Theo Bleckmann/Gary Versace, Refuge Trio (Winter & Winter)

Large Ensemble:
Joris Teepe Big Band, We Take No Prisoners (Challenge)
Bill Dixon, Tapestries for Small Orchestra (Firehouse 12)
Dave Douglas, A Single Sky (Greenleaf)
Sound Assembly, Edge of the Mind (Beauport Jazz)
Joseph C. Phillips, Jr., Vipassana (Innova)
Pedro Giraudo Jazz Orchestra, El Viaje (ind.)
Mike Holober & The Gotham Jazz Orchestra, Quake (Sunnyside)
Ayn Inserto Jazz Orchestra, Muse (Creative Nation)
Frank Wess Nonet, Once Is Not Enough (Labeth)
Roy Hargrove Big Band, Emergence (Groovin’ High/Emarcy)
Laura Andel Orchestra, Doble Mano (Rossbin)
Fat Cat Big Band, Face (Smalls Records)
Bobby Sanabria, Kenya Revisited: Live!!! (Jazzheads)
Chuck Owen & The Jazz Surge, The Comet’s Tail: Performing the Compositions of Michael Brecker (MAMA)

Dave Rivello Ensemble, Facing the Mirror (Allora)
John Hebert, Byzantine Monkey (Firehouse 12)
E.J. Strickland, In This Day (Strick Muzik)
Keyon Harrold, Introducing Keyon Harrold (Criss Cross)
Graham Dechter, Right On Time (Capri)
Dan Aran, Breathing (Smalls Records)
Anne Drummond, Like Water (ObliqSound)
Josh Berman, Old Idea (Delmark)
Diego Barber, Calima (Sunnyside)
Reut Regev, This Is R*Time (Ropeadope)
Venissa Santí, Bienvenida (Sunnyside)
Romain Collin, The Rise and Fall of Pipokuhn (Fresh Sound New Talent)
Stacy Dillard, One (Smalls)
Jonathon Haffner, Life on Wednesday (Cachuma)
Dana Hall, Into the Light (Origin)

Posted by dadler under David R. Adler & Top 10, 2009 | No Comments »

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.