2013 Jazz Awards

April 2nd 2013 08:30 pm

Copyright © 2013 Jim Eigo

To: Listings/Critics/Features
From: Jazz Promo Services
Press Contact: Jim Eigo, jim@jazzpromoservices.com

The Jazz Journalists Association has announced nominees in 37 categories for
the 2013 JJA Jazz Awards, the non-profit professional organization’s 17th
annual celebration of excellence in musicianship and journalism. The nominees
and other information about the 2013 JJA Jazz Awards may be viewed at

Besides the Jazz Awards nominees, the JJA announced the names of 26 “Jazz
Heroes” – who it describes as “advocates, altruists, activists, aiders and
abettors of jazz” – nominated by JJA members and unaffiliated colleagues in 24
U.S. cities and Ottawa, Canada. Photos and bios of the Jazz Heroes are on view
here: http://www.jjajazzawards.org/p/jazz-heroes-2013.html

Nominees for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz are pianist/composers Muhal Richard
Abrams, McCoy Tyner and Randy Weston as well as saxophonist/composer Wayne
Shorter (also nominated for Best Small Ensemble and Soprano Saxophonist of the
Year. Musicians nominated in several categories include arranger and orchestra
leader Ryan Truesdell, trumpeter/composer Wadada Leo Smith, and clarinetist
Anat Cohen.

The JJA Jazz Awards are the only honors presented by professional jazz media-
makers for both musicianship and journalistic activities (including Best
Publication, Best Website, Best Book of the Year, and Photo of the Year).
Nominees for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism are multi-taskers Willard
Jenkins, W. Royal Stokes and Ted Panken.

The JJA, with more than 300 members (writers, photographers, broadcasters and
new media professionals as well as supporters, jazz industry and community
sponsors, mostly in North America but also in South America, Europe, Asia and
New Zealand) promotes all media activities about all styles or genres of jazz.
Its initiatives currently include JazzApril, http://www.JazzApril.com, a
broadly based campaign in support of local jazz activities during the
Smithsonian Institution-driven Jazz Appreciation Month, culminating in UNESCO’s
declared International Jazz Day, April 30.

Winners in the 28 categories of 2013 Jazz Awards pertaining to musicianship
will be announced on May 1. Winners of the Jazz Awards for media will be
announced at a JJA Jazz Awards party in New York City at the Blue Note Jazz
Club, a ticketed event, on June 19. Details about tickets will follow.
For further information on the JJA Jazz Awards, contact Howard Mandel,

Posted by Jim Eigo under Jim Eigo | Comments Off on 2013 Jazz Awards

Comments are closed.